|EN

Glasskube - Open source Kubernetes Package Manager

Glasskube - Open source Kubernetes Package Manager

Challenge

Glasskube is an open-source project that simplifies package management in Kubernetes clusters. Additionally, this project is also used for providing marketplace integrations (e.g., in Exoscale).

As part of a redesign of the open-source project, a new architecture for the project is to be developed. At the same time, based on existing problems with current package managers and challenges in package management in the Kubernetes space in general, a sustainable community strategy is to be developed.

Solution

In this project, WhizUs has taken on the role of Kubernetes and community-building experts. Through a workshop, starting from a greenfield scenario, the new sustainable state-of-the-art architecture was developed. Based on the elaboration of the architecture and a new vision for the community strategy, initial measures for community building were defined, and an initial roadmap of the project was developed.

WhizUs supported or completely took over development to accompany the implementation. This included implementing backup and restore functionality, creating a release mechanism, and supportively developing Go components related to the CLI or the operator.

Impact

The first version of Glasskube was released 3 weeks after the workshop. The project quickly gained 300 GitHub stars, was among the trending GitHub repositories, and regularly appears in social media. The community and the number of contributors are steadily increasing.

We are excited to accompany Glasskube on its journey to becoming a successful open-source project and are proud of the results achieved so far.

  • Customer Glasskube
  • Service DevOps Consulting
  • Technologies Kubernetes, Go / Kubebuilder / cobra, Terraform, Velero, Helm
  • Timespan 2023, 2024

DE|

Glasskube - Open Source Kubernetes Package Manager

Glasskube - Open Source Kubernetes Package Manager

Challenge

Glasskube ist ein Open-Source-Projekt, das das Paketmanagement in Kubernetes-Clustern vereinfacht. Des Weiteren wird dieses Projekt auch zur Bereitstellung von Marketplace-Integrationen (z.B. in Exoscale) verwendet.

Im Rahmen eines Redesigns des Open-Source-Projekts soll eine neue Architektur des Projekts erarbeitet werden. Gleichzeitig soll basierend auf bestehenden Problemen aktueller Package-Manager und Herausforderungen im Paketmanagement im Kubernetes-Bereich allgemein eine nachhaltige Community-Strategie erarbeitet werden.

Lösung

WhizUs hat in diesem Projekt die Rolle des Kubernetes- und Community-Building-Experten eingenommen. Durch einen Workshop wurde, ausgehend von einem Greenfield-Szenario, die neue nachhaltige State-of-the-Art-Architektur erarbeitet. Basierend auf der Ausarbeitung der Architektur und einer neuen Vision für die Community-Strategie wurden erste Maßnahmen zum Community-Building definiert und eine initiale Roadmap des Projekts erarbeitet.

Zur Begleitung bei der Implementierung hat WhizUs bei der Entwicklung unterstützt bzw. diese komplett übernommen. Dabei wurde unter anderem eine Backup- und Restore-Funktionalität implementiert, ein Release-Mechanismus erstellt und Go-Komponenten, die die CLI bzw. den Operator betreffen, unterstützend entwickelt.

Impact

Die erste Version von Glasskube wurde 3 Wochen nach dem Workshop veröffentlicht. Das Projekt erreichte binnen kürzester Zeit 300 GitHub-Sterne, war unter den Trending-GitHub-Repositories und erscheint regelmäßig in den sozialen Medien. Die Community und die Anzahl der Contributor nehmen stetig zu.

Wir freuen uns, Glasskube auf dem Weg zu einem erfolgreichen Open-Source-Projekt zu begleiten und sind stolz auf die bisherigen Ergebnisse.

  • Kunde Glasskube
  • Service DevOps Consulting
  • Technologien Kubernetes, Go / Kubebuilder / cobra, Terraform, Velero, Helm
  • Zeitraum 2023, 2024